NICK THAYER_BRI4027-Edit.jpg

Nicholas Robert THayer


Selected Works

by Nicholas Robert Thayer



Nicholas Robert Thayer is a London-born, Antwerp-based composer and  producer, working across neo-classical, electronic, and rock music. He built his name in the club music realm under the pseudonym ‘Nick Thayer’, where he is known for defying the limiting factors of genre. This approach is reflected in all his work, which is characterised by the drawing together of disparate musical ideas: lightness and darkness, harmony and dissonance, noise and silence. 


Coming from a family firmly planted in the music world, Nicholas grew up with a classical music training, studying violin and piano, before branching out into the world of rock and funk as a guitarist with a string of bands. Then, deciding that computers were easier to deal with than lead singers, Nick forged a path for himself as an electronic music producer, studying at La Trobe University in Melbourne, Australia. 


Thayer has composed for dance pieces performed by Het Nationale Ballet, Ballet Vlandaaren, House Of Makers, Sydney Dance Company and West Australian Ballet.


Club music career as Nick Thayer

In a career spanning over fifteen years as an electronic artist, Thayer has released over 100 records on a variety of record labels, most notably Skrillex’s OWSLA and his own label, Nick Thayer Music. Nick has remixed for Fall Out Boy, Zedd and MIA amongst others. He has collaborated with artists as disparate as Motley Crue’s Tommy Lee, Amba Shepherd, Mikill Payne, and DJ Yoda. A relentless performer, he has played DJ sets all over the world including internationally renowned clubs Fabric in London and Avalon in Los Angeles, to festivals Burning Man, Hard Summer and Ultra in USA, Shambhala in Canada, and Stereosonic and Big Day Out in Australia, as well as MONA’s MOFO Festival in 2015. He now performs as part of the 2017 iteration of electronic punk-rock act The Bloody Beetroots Live.


Thayer was presented with Best Electronic Artist at the 2013 Music Victoria Awards, and his remix of Drumattic Twins’ Feelin’ Kinda Strange with Bass Kleph won Best Remix at Breakspoll 2005. His music has featured on video games for Playstation, the TV show CSI Miami, and TV commercials including Toyota Hilux, and he also worked on Mr Sugar’s song in the acclaimed That Sugar Film


Compositional career

2015 saw Nicholas’ first commissioned contemporary score, writing the music for Sydney Dance Company’s ‘Reign’, choreographed by Daniel Riley from Bangarra Dance Theatre. The work drew heavily on Thayer’s electronic background and also his classical training, using contemporary production techniques as the bridge to fuse the two together. Nicholas and his wife Juliet Burnett (First Soloist with Ballet Vlaanderen and former Senior Artist with The Australian Ballet), and Gabrielle Adamidis, were then commissioned by MONA museum in Hobart to create a film work for the DarkMOFO festival 2016. Titled ‘Letting Blood’, the score further blurs the boundaries between electronic and neo-classical composition and the use of production as a compositional technique. The score was nominated for 'Best Music For a Short Film' in the 2016 APRA Screen Music Awards. Nicholas was then commissioned by the West Australian Ballet to score a work ‘Megatruh’, choreographed by Melanie Lane, for their 2016 gala in Jakarta. 


In March 2017 Thayer was invited by House Of Makers to be a part of an artistic residency in Ostade A'Dam, Amsterdam, creating a multi-disciplinary work 'We Shall Meet In The Place Where There Is No Darkness' based on themes from Orwell's 1984. He then composed for Ballet Vlandaaren's 'Choreolab' season for a piece entitled 'North' choreographed by Emmi Pennanen, and for Het Nationale Ballet's 'New Moves' season for 'In Limbo' choreographed by Clotilde Tran. 


Further collaborations with House Of Makers include 'Love Story', a pas de deux choreographed by Peter Leung, and music for acclaimed designer Barbara Langedijk's July 2017 showing.



News & Updates